Home > Nawabs of Bahawalpur

Nawabs of Bahawalpur

Nawab Muhammad Bahawal Khan Abbassi (I)

Founder of the State of Bahawalpur
Year of Birth: 1715
Year of Accession: 1746
Year of Death: 1749
Years of Governance: 4
Buried at: Maluk Shah Bahawalpur
His Highness Suggested to make his Capital three miles away from the border of the Sutlej River. He put up a strong wall around the city and took shelter. In 1748 he suggested Bahawalpur as the name of the city.

Nawab Muhammad Abbass Khan Abbassi

First Aamir of Bahawalpur
Date of Birth: March 22, 1924
Date of Death: April 14, 1988
He was the Governor of Punjab in 1974 during the Government of Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto. During the Government of Zia-Ul-Haq He was the Federal Minister of religious affairs. After the Death of Abbass Khan Abbassi the Abbassi clan from Hazrat Abbass the uncle of Hazrat Muhammad (P.B.U.H) to thousands of years started its downfall.

Nawab Muhammad Mubarik Khan Abbassi

Third Ruler of the State of Bahawalpur
Year of Death: 1772
Year of Accession: 1749
Years of Governance: 24
Buried at: Maluk Shah Bahawalpur
His Highness laid the foundation of Mubarikpur City in 1757 and Ahmapur East in 1858. In 1762 he militated and conquered Gerhi Ikhtiyar Khan. He put up a canal for the people of that area and announced that the person who has never left his prayer of TAHAJUD will inaugurate it. But His Highness inaugurated it himself because no one was found.

Nawab Muhammad Bahawal Khan Abbassi

Fourth Ruler of the State of Bahawalpur
Year of Birth: 1752
Year of Death: 1809
Year of Accession: 1772
Years of Governance: 37
During the governance of Sikhs the circumstances of Punjab were going towards war. Bahawalpur was also attacked by its native governments. In 1779 King Taimur attacked against Bahawalpur and Derawar Fort.

Nawab Sadiq Muhammad Khan Abbassi

Fifth Ruler of the State of Bahawalpur
Year of Birth: 1780
Year of Death: 1825
Year of Accession: 1805
Years of Governance: 17
In 1816 Shah Shujah was extruded by his brothers from Kabul and King Ranjeet Singh tried to fallacy. But Shah Shujah arrived at Bahawalpur and desired help from His Highness. Nawab sent a tidy squad of Army with him and with the help of Bahawalpur Shujah-Ul-Mulk again conquered Dera Ghazi Khan.

Nawab Muhammad Bahawal Khan Abbassi

Sixth Ruler of the State of Bahawalpur
Year of Birth: 1797
Year of Death: 1852
Year of Accession: 1825
Years of Governance: 28
King Ranjeet Singh accredited General Mentora to attack on Bahawalpur and the Belongings of Bahawalpur including Sahiwal, Multan, Muzzafargerh and Dera Ghazi Khan were occupied by King Ranjeet Singh. Governor General Hind Lord warned Ranjeet Singh to avoid military attack against Bahawalpur.

Nawab Sadiq Muhammad Khan Abbassi

Seventh Ruler of the State of Bahawalpur
Also Famous by the Name: Saadat Yar Khan Abbassi
Year of Death: 1853
Date of Accession: OCT 9, 1852
Months Of Governance: 4
Due to the danger of insurgence He captivated his brother Hajji Khan in Fatihgerh Fort. The people were displeased Because of this step of Nawab. Behram Khan Chandiyo and Khuda Bakhsh Balani arrived at Fatihgerh Fort on eighth of February 1853 and got him out of there in darkness on a camel.

Nawab Rahim Yar Khan Abbassi (IV)

Ninth Ruler of the State of Bahawalpur
Year of Birth: 1873
Date of Death: March 25, 1866
Date of Accession: OCT 13, 1858
Immediately after his death insurgence started. Nawab was suspecting that a servant of the palace was planning and dreaming the death of Nawab Gull Muhammad Khan. His Highness took the advice of Makhdom Syed Rajan Baksh and ordered him to leave the State through Behram Khan in 1961.

Nawab Sadiq Muhammad Khan Abbassi (IV)

Tenth Ruler of the State of Bahawalpur
Date of Birth: NOV 11, 1861
Date of Death: Feb 14, 1899
Age: 37 years
Accession: 1879
Years of Governance: 18
Buried at: Derawar Fort
During His Governance Nawab Sadiq Muhammad Khan Abbassi put up kingly buildings in Bahawalpur including Dolat Khana, Sadiq Gerh Palace, Noor Mahal and Gulzar Mahal. Local people say (Peer ho tu Ghulam Fareed Jesa or Mureed ho to Sadiq Jesa).

Nawab Muhammad Bahawal Khan Abbassi (V)

Eleventh Ruler of the State of Bahawalpur
Date of Birth: Oct 22, 1883
Date of Death: Feb 15, 1907
Age: 25 Years
Years of Governance: 3 Years
During his studies in Aitcheson College Lahore He gifted the college with a beautiful Mosque. In 1903 he bought his first car who’s worth was 4 thousands 3 hundreds and 25 rupees. He felt ill after returning from Hajj. His last words were, my time is near a few breaths are left. He died at the port of Aden.

Nawab Sir Sadiq Muhammad Khan Abbassi (V)

Twelveth Ruler of the State of Bahawalpur
Date of Birth: Sep 30, 1904
Date of Death: May 24, 1966
Date of Accession: March 8, 1924
Moments of his life.
Total years: 60 Years 7 Months 24 Days.
Total Days: 22,137 Thousands.
Total Hours: 5, 77,288 Hours.
Total Minutes: 3, 18, 77000 Minutes.

Nawab Hajji Khan

Eighteen Ruler of the State of Bahawalpur
Date of Death: OCT 21, 1858
Years of Governance: 5
Year of Accession: 1853
During the independence War of 1857 His Highness aided with a reasonable amount of money and Army also. In the independence war of May 1857 northern Hindustan was on fire. His Highness accommodated himself in Derawar Fort. He died at Derawar Fort and was buried there also.